Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow is the great unknown. Today is all we truly have, the now that goes and flows from later to a while ago, the dripping constant of seconds that leaves faster than it comes. We remember, we recall, we reminisce. And we ponder, we reflect while we submerge ourselves into the bitter sweet moments of glorious nostalgia packed in victory and defeat. There are prints of the past we prefer to delete while there are those we choose to recycle. With them, we smile or shed some tears. There are moments when we wallow in our solitude and there are times when we choose to have company.

This evening I watched the the Primer of DALLAS. I remember watching the show when it started in 1978 all the way through 1991. I was 9 years old when it started and 22 when it ended and now I am 43 with the new generation. I grew up with the show.

As I was watching I began to remember things of that time in my life that I had forgotten. Watching the show with my mom every week sitting on the couch. I had forgotten how special that was and I miss it. It is good to feel that feeling again when watching the new show. This got me to thinking the importance of our past and our memories.

Our past and our memories of the moments in it define who we are at this moment.  Events and people all leave an imprint on us. Because of this it is so important to remember the good and the bad of our lives as we grow for it is a part of our being.

We should all “stop and smell the roses” from time to time. When something triggers a memory stop and enjoy the moment. Feel it and I promise it is like going back in time. Remember what you learned and pass the memories on to those around you.

Our memory is a way of holding onto the things we love, the things we are, the things we never want to lose.

