Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,


“Beware of practicing your righteousness before other people in order to be seen by them….” What does this excerpt from the Bible mean to you? Think about it before you read on….

images (3)How many of you are put off by those that do “Good Deeds” for others only for the recognition? How many people do you know that say, “Look at what I did for them”? How many people do you see on Facebook, G+, Twitter and  a multitude of blogs that do this exact thing?

This bothers my wife and I to the point that I actually become angry. To me, doing good deeds for others to build yourself up for and to others does nothing but show me a weakness, an inability to be confident in oneself and shows me how selfish one is.

I would rather see someone never do anything for another human being as to not degrade the gift of giving and sharing with others.

The only thing that I will ever expect from my deeds and the good that I do, the only thing that any of us should expect is a measure of respect from the receiver. You should expect a gift in your heart of warmth and of connectivity, nothing more and nothing less.

Thinking good thoughts is not enough, doing good deeds is not enough, seeing others follow your good examples is enough and all of this should be done without advertising what deed you have done.

A deed done from the heart without you advertising it will be seen by others. Deeds done in this way will lead others to do the same and you will be the pebble in the pond that causes the ripple to touch others.

When you promote and advertise your good in the world you actually become the basket that is placed over your candle of good, smothering its light!

With that bit of venting tonight, I am done.

It is time to say goodnight and God bless to you and to all of those to whom you are connected to or will ever be.

