Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


With beauty before me, may I walk; with beauty behind me, may I walk; with beauty above me, may I walk; with beauty below me, may I walk; with beauty all blue-wildflowersaround me, may I walk. Wandering on a trail of beauty, lively, I walk.

This is a saying from the Navajo Indian’s. I chose this because to me it describes wonder! There is wonder around each of us each day yet we fail to see it right in front of us but what is wonder, really?

Wonder is a sense of how grand and marvelous life is, both our own small lives and the vast and intricate web of being in which we exist.

When we are caught up in the wonder of it all, we find ourselves humble, grateful and curious. We are open to small beauties that surround us as we go through our ordinary tasks and we are open to the marvel of being part of something much larger than ourselves.

Wonder can be evoked by rituals or spiritual practices, by natural beauty, by scientific inquiry, or, if we are attentive, by day-to-day living. In each of these, it is intimately related to a sense of the sacred. We find ourselves wanting to honor, celebrate, preserve or protect that which we have glimpsed. Sometimes we relish a quiet, secret sense of delight; often we want to share the experience with others.

I want to share something that happened to me recently that exemplifies how important and how evident wonder is around each of us each day.

Each spring brings a new blossom of wildflowers, near the ditch along the highway I travel daily to work.

One particular blue flower has always caught my eye. I have noticed that it blooms only in the morning hours when the dew is upon it; the afternoon sun is too warm for it. Every day for approximately two weeks, I see those beautiful flowers.

This spring, nature itself started a wildflower garden in our back yard. We can look out of the living room window and see the flowers. I have often thought that those lovely blue flowers from the ditch would look great in that bed alongside other wildflowers.

Every day I drove past the flowers thinking, “I’ll stop on my way home and dig them.” Gee, I don’t want to get my good clothes dirty.” Whatever the reason, I never stopped to dig them. I even put a shovel in my car to be used for that expressed purpose.

One day on my way home from work, I was saddened to see that TXDOT had mowed the ditches and the blue flowers were all gone. I thought to myself, “Way to go, you waited too long. You should have done it when you first saw them blooming this spring.”

I do believe God has given us some time left to plant some wonderful memories in this life. Always find time for loved ones and never take them for granted. Remember it is so much more enjoyable to say, “I’m glad I did” THAN “I wish I had”.

Moreover, if you’re wondering, yes, if I see the blue flowers again, you can bet I’ll stop and transplant them to our natural flower garden.

