Tags

, , , , , ,


“Thank you…for gracing my life with your lovely presence, for adding the sweet measure of your soul to my existence.”

What-Dreams-May-Come-robin-williams-26619597-1499-973Robin Williams said this in one of my favorite movies that he did. Many of us grew up with him as children as Mork. He made us laugh so hard at times, we would cry and our stomachs would be so sore from it.

Today, funny man, Robin Williams, left us and with him, another piece of our childhood has gone with him. He leaves behind not sadness but rather memories and laughter.

I was in shock when I heard the news. As many of you did I felt a tear run down my face. Then we heard that he might have taken his own life. If he did I am sad that he felt that he had no other option and that he felt that leaving his family and friends with that last memory saddens me. This goes to prove that no matter who you are or how rich you are, YOU are human.

Friends, Robin Williams was very human. I believe that over the years with his battles of depression and addiction it was his desire to make us laugh that kept him going as long as it did. We kept him going and I am glad to have been a part of the millions that laughed and kept him going.

However, his passing today has left a void in many of us and for many it has reminded us that we are getting older. It has reminded us that no one is exempt from pain and from suffering. Today as I said another part of our childhood has passed and soon, we will have nothing but our memories.

Rather than dissecting his death and allowing the void that is left in our hearts, I want to share what he taught us over the years. He taught us how to be friendly as an actor and in most of the roles that he played.

Robin Williams taught us that being friendly is being open toward other people while inviting them into a relationship with us as he did for most of his live, on and off screen. He taught us to be curious and to dream while remaining warm and inviting toward people we do not even know. Even in severe depression, he taught us to be vulnerable and interdependent with other people.

Friends, Robin Williams, taught us that when we are friendly we assume that others are good and open to give it back and that we can each learn from one another. In many of his interviews, he taught us that we do not have to be oblivious to the fact that people do bad things but that laughter and friendliness can go so much farther than anger or hatred. He taught us that it is okay to give the benefit of the doubt as well as teaching us that friendliness maximizes the richness of our relationships with all of humanity.

So to you my friend, Robin Williams, I leave you as well all who read this a quote from you in the movie, “WHAT DREAMS MAY COME”;

“Heaven would never be heaven without you.”  Rest in peace my friend!

